Cities to visit – Leeds

This Saturday I took a trip to Leeds for my Dads birthday.

Coming from the small town of Grimsby, Leeds is only about an hour and half in the car, so I have flying visits fairly regular – every time I’m there I find myself saying “I wish I lived here.”

I don’t know why I like it so much, I guess for me it is the perfect size not overwhelmingly big but still big enough to have an extensive range of vibrant bars, exciting places to visit and hundreds of nice places to eat. Something I’d not really thought about before, but my Dad mentioned how clean it is for city too!

This weekend as it was for a special occasion I was lucky enough to stay in The Queens Hotel, which is a step up from my usual holiday inn. It’s in an ideal location next to the rail station, right in the city centre, which meant we could easily walk anywhere we wanted.

The Queens is a beautiful building, retaining its original features whilst offering modern interior and rooms.

The Queens Hotel

I particularly like having a night out in the Calls area of the city, which really highlights its cosmopolitan vibe. There is a real mixture of bars from Call Lane Social, an indie lovers haven to trendy chain Revolution, perfect for anyone looking to have a lively night out.

I’m a lover of live music and there are loads of great venues that cater for this in Leeds; including The Cockpit which is renowned for its mix of established and up and coming artists, built under three railway arches it has a quirky underground feel, the venue has three stages and the largest only caters for a capacity of up to 500, guaranteeing an intimate feel! Other venues for live music includes The Elbow Rooms, Leeds 02 academy and The Stage (Leeds Met’s music venue).

The Cockpit Leeds

It’s fair to say I have fallen in love with this city, who knows maybe one day I will live there 😉

If anyone is from Leeds or knows it well and has any suggestions on good places to go, I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

