Chicken and leek pie

20120516-195828.jpg

I have been making this pie for a couple of years now, it was a recipe I got from ITV’s This Morning but after a while it has just become second nature and a tea we have fairly regular.

After rave reviews, even from my four year old, I thought I’d share it with you all.

Ingredients – chicken, white wine, pouring cream, tarragon, chicken stock, leeks and pastry.

I’m not great with weights when I cook and just tend to throw things in until they look about right. I used left over chicken from a roast dinner I had the day before, so its great for using up leftovers!

Firstly, I sliced and washed the leeks then added them to a pan with chicken, once the leeks had sweated a bit I added the white wine. As a guide I buy one of the miniature bottles and use it all; when it comes to wine I only add it to food if I’d drink it, if it’s not nice to drink it won’t be nice in your food either. I leave this to simmer a little so the alcohol is reduced.

Next add the chicken stock, of course real chicken stock is best but I didn’t have any on hand so just added an oxo cube. This can be crumbled straight in or mixed with water, it depends how you prefer the texture of your pie.

To finish the filling I add the cream, tarragon and season.

20120516-195636.jpg

I place the filling in individual pie dishes then add pastry to the top. This time I have been naughty and used shop bought pastry; I think homemade is nice and gives you pride in the finished product but for a quicker tea, shop bought is fine and tastes just as good.

Finally I bake it for 30 minutes and serve with mash and veg.

20120516-200643.jpg

What do you think, what’s your favourite filling?

Leave a Reply

