15 minute meal

Those of you who follow me on Instagram will know that last week I attempted my first recipe from Jamie Oliver’s 15 minute meals.

I received the book for Christmas and couldn’t wait to give it a try – I made Golden Chicken with braised greens and potato gratin.

Here’s the pic from the book.

20130121-121107.jpg

The ingredients are fairly simple for this recipe, which is why I thought it would be a great starting point ( and because it looks delicious). Now I have to be honest on reading the book alone I was a little confused – there are points when it’s not clear how you get from one stage to the next. However, I downloaded the 15 minute app to double check the recipe and I was away. The app works well with the book; it has a photo scan feature which enables you to take a photo of any page and it comes up with a recipe card, which has extra tips on it.

20130121-121617.jpg

The meal probably took me around 30 minutes, although I wasn’t rushing and can see how after cooking this dish a couple of times it would become quicker! Besides I think even 30 minutes for a nutritious, tasty dish is good.

This was my finished result and it has to be said it was a family pleaser, with my boyfriend and daughter both claiming how yummy it was! The chicken has plenty of flavour, while the greens make you feel healthy and the gratin is a real treat – perfect combo!

20130121-122533.jpg

My top tip would be not to tackle this without a food processor, otherwise it would be more like an hour than half! Also when I make it again I’d definitely flatten the chicken a bit more. I wanted to serve it up on a board, as Jamie does but with a five year old I imagine I’d be finding peas for weeks!

20130121-123110.jpg

20130121-123139.jpg

The ingredients are below but if you’d like further details on how to create this recipe, please don’t hesitate to get in touch!

20130121-123455.jpg

Leave a Reply

